Fiverr Forum

What is the deal with sellers expecting only 5 star reviews?

I am new to fiver, just completed my first transaction. The transaction went “okay”, not great. Had some minor challenges so instead of a 5 star review, it averaged out to 4.5.

I actually had the seller ask me to change it because it ruined her rating. I had picked her because she had close to 1000 five star reviews, but now I wonder how inflated the ratings are if she could actually want to pressure me to change my 4.5 to a 5 simply not to change her 5 star streak.

Makes me not want to use this website/forum if I can’t rely on a 5 star review truly meaning exemplary.

Has anyone else had this experience? Could this entire culture be that warped on over-inflated reviews?

Another post about the obsession with 5-star reviews on Fiverr

I would just ignore any requests like that when someone asks you to alter the rating.

I can maybe understand a seller messaging you to ask is there anything I can do to fix something with the gig you are not happey with? But I too am now scared off from leaving reviews after I had someone ask me to remove my reviews over and over. The gig was fine, I gave it a 4.5, there is nothing bad about that. I just do not give reviews as much anymore, I do write to each seller to say thank you for the gig, but that is it.

rosealexandre said: Could this entire culture be that warped on over-inflated reviews?
Yes, it's a carry over from previous versions of the site when reviews were rated either "Thumbs Up" or Thumbs Down" Sellers lived in fear of getting a "Thumbs Down"...they still do.