Fiverr Community Forum

When fiverr just plain sucks - the tale of a gig gone bad

I’m a VO artist,
I advertise a gig that promises a deep British voice, perfect for trailers and epic ad campaigns etc.
I got a new purchase for 200 words and a quick delivery
when I sat down to complete the work, the word count on the script was 322.
I politely made an offer to the client to purchase the extra words.
no response
the gig deadline approaches.
no response
I swallow my pride and complete the gig complete with a note asking for a tip that might make up the balance owed.
no response.
3 days later the gig autocompletes
then 30mins after that - the client suddenly responds!
They now want it done again from scratch with a soft and emotional read.
My gig doesn’t offer that - I mean yeah I could probably do it - but this client didn’t even pay me in full the first time round and now they want me to do it again? after the gig is complete?
I reached out to fiverr support to ask for advice
they told me I should just do it (because the order included 1 revision and this counts as a revision)
SO EVEN THOUGH THE CLIENT WANTS A SERVICE I DON’T PROVIDE AND DIDN’T PAY ME ENOUGH FOR THE SERVICE I DO PROVIDE - SOMEHOW THIS IS MY PROBLEM AND I SHOULD JUST DO IT WITHOUT COMPLAINT?
/rant

9 Likes

That’s always the worst kind of experience to go through on here. It sucks, but sometimes you have to go through the resolution center and force cancel an order. Yeah, your rankings will take a hit for a day or two, but it’s better to do that than to go through the mental stress of someone pulling a quick one on you, or even worse leaving a bad review.

1 Like

I disagree. Cancel the order and not only does your stats take a hit but the buyer walks away with free work. That order is completed in my eyes. I offer one revision on my gig but i be damn if i’m a do a revision a week or two later when the buyer has 3 full days to request one.

1 Like