Why can't we message buyers who aren't sellers?

zeromark

I’m not sure if this has been explained somewhere already, and if it has, I’m sorry and this thread can be deleted if you tell me where it is.

Just wondering why I can’t message someone who is a buyer on Fiverr if he doesn’t have any active gigs.

For example: (I am not really a graphic designer, just think it’s the easiest to explain)

I am a graphic designer. I design an AMAZING logo for someone, it’s a new profile without a profile picture and he buys the source files and everything. Let’s say I design 2 more for 2 other new profiles. These 3 logos are some of my best work and I am truly amazed myself.

Now, 5 weeks have passed and I decide to check out some other graphic designers. After some time, I find a new seller with some positive reviews. I see on his gig image the 3 logos I’m proud of. I check out the reviews and see that he actually delivered my logos with only text changes. The reviews say “OMG Best artist on Fiverr!!!” or such. Now I feel bad and I want to let the buyers know that I was actually the one who made those logos. I go to their profiles: Unable to message.

I am not sure why this is the case. If someone has no gigs, they are not likely to get spammed, right? There are very few people who will ever find their profiles and those will be either potential sellers who come from a buyer’s request (sometimes we forget or don’t have enough place to put everything we want in the offer) OR someone who has something to say based on their review of a certain gig.

Possible case could be angry sellers who got bad reviews that want to spam their inbox. This could be solved by not allowing more than 3 messages in a row without a reply, or with a simple ‘block’ and ‘report’ from the no-gigs buyer.