Why do I get penalized?

I’m a voice over artist and charge $5 per 100 words. I’ve had several potential clients try to rip me off by ordering a $5 gig and then submitting a 400 word script. This just happened to me again, I’m scared to report it or say anything because the last time I went to through the resolution center, the potential client essentially said, “well if you’re not going to do it, then I’m cancelling” and they do. Then I have the cancellation marked against me. It says cancellations effect my business. It just doesn’t seem right. Thoughts or constructive feedback?

I hear you. BTW, I’ve seen your work well done! I have patches of buyers like this too. The best method I have seemed to come across is this:

• I notice 400 word script on the $5 order
  • I then send a message saying “Hi! I noticed the script was a little longer than the order that was placed. Would you like to edit the script before I begin recording? Or would you like a custom offer for the additional words on your script? Thanks!”

I have come across “that buyer” about 6 times. 4 times this worked perfect, and they either modified it or ordered more. 1 time the customer asked why I was charging more money (usually a language barrier here). I just explained the same thing in a different way, and we still completed it.

There is no all being win-win answer, but I hope this can help you out.

Until the review system remains as now, there is nothing you can do to avoid those cancellations impact, though you can try to limit the number of them by taking those simple steps:

1. Make a profuse gig description.
  2. Try to get into a higher price tier, if possible. $5 is a trouble magnet in my experience, though I left that rates long ago (mainly only for startup), don’t know how it is now.
  3. Be confident and communicate your work and rates clearly from the very beginning of conversation. Propose extending the order if needed.