Fiverr Community Forum

Would Fiverr be a good plan B?

Hey guys,
My name is Atef, I own a digital agency in Canada.
With the recent COVID-19 outbreak, the business went south. It’s so hard to find new (local) clients since everyone is afraid to pay. Even our current customers are delaying payments.

I’m new to Fiverr. i wonder how has it been for freelancers that have been working in Fiverr for a while? Did it slow down?
Would this be a good plan b for myself? Or is it too late to join?

Thanks!

11 Likes

Welcome to the Fiverr forums.

You’re in the right category to find the answers, and this is probably the most active thread on the topic, so feel free to join in the discussion: Coronavirus (COVID-19) Impacts On Freelancing!

As for the specific question of ‘good plan B’, I can say that there has been a huge influx of people thinking the exact same thing. It all depends on if the plan was/is actually a plan and not a whim.

You’ve been here since December, according to your account, so you already know that it’s not as simple as making a gig to make sales. The ‘conditions’ are even more saturated now. Plan B might still work, but it’ll take work, a lot of work, to make it as a freelancer, so be sure to research and plan accordingly.

“If you fail to plan, you are planning to fail.” (Attributed to Benjamin Franklin)

12 Likes

I would consider focusing on clients that are moving in this economic environment. That has been a bigger issue for me than which sales platform. Do you have current customers that are working more in this season? I see tons of new video commercials and ads from companies that are distributing media right now. Much of the work can be completed online and not in person.

I have an active account on Fiverr. I have seen a 30% increase in my business during the crisis. People have gone home and now they have time to complete the things they have been too busy to finish. They are less distracted now.