Would you recommend Fiverr?

idostuff4u

Would any of you sellers recommend Fiverr to a friend or a stranger who may have a skill that they can offer as an online service?

Someone asked me what I do the other day and I told them. They got all excited, but I had to warn them that it may take some time to become established.

Would you encourage someone to start selling here now or not?

I have never talked about what I do for a living with my relatives. But one of my uncles was really worried about his son - a mediocre doctor who can’t get any patients to visit him (all my relatives are highly educated) - so I suggested trying freelance writing. But I ddn’t mention Fiverr, metioned one of those freelance websites where prices can get very low. I don’t want anyone to find out what I do. I advised him to set a price of $3/$4 per hour at least initially as bids on that site are very low. So what happens? That cousin of mine does not get a single writing work in 6 months because he sets his price at $10/hour because he is a doctor and not a college dropout like me. Now my uncle is angry with me because his son cannot make money online and now talks behind my back to all relatives about me making $1/$2 per day writing articles on the internet and barely scrapping a living. (Not true, I make more than all of them, and am in India’s highest income tax bracket, but I don’t want to reveal that to them.) So, I have decided not to talk to any relatives about what I do or help anyone ever again. Not worth it. Ultimately I get the shaft.

In India, people distrust those who are in any way different or do something unusual - such as freelancing, making money on the internet. They assume the worst of such people, as I have found it. That’s why I tend to avoid talking about what I do, as much as possible.