Fiverr Community Forum

I have a language degree, but no ideas

Hey, everyone!

I have a language degree, actually a Translation degree. Throughout university, I have always taken classes on the Portuguese language and on the English language (some German but - ahem - we don’t talk about that). Anyway, I’m looking for some tips on new gigs I could create so that I could land my first order.

I have a translation gig and a Portuguese language learning gig, both active but they haven’t had much success, sadly. So, I was thinking maybe proofreading, but isn’t there enough of that on this website? I’ve written some articles after finishing university, I’ve written my own stories and even a game review for funsies but now I’m a sad unemployed young adult.

Any tips and help?

4 Likes

These articles may help you

https://www.fiverr.com/terms_of_service .

4 Likes

The gigs look really plain, especially your translating gig, and in just 26 words you still managed to leave a small error in the text. You should definitely work on how these gigs are presented and put a bit more effort in.

As for the teaching gig, I get that tarts are a known Portuguese pastry but I’m not sure how well this works with your branding? if any.

I’m sure with some re-working of them you’ll be able to start getting some work. Good luck!

2 Likes

Also, you can add a proofreading gig (English or Portuguese language, or both). And try to take a Fiverr course for beginners - it’s free, takes 1-2 hours, but can be very useful for you. Also, take Fiverr tests - buyers will see your result and they can be sure, that you are really good it what you are doing.
And good luck! :grinning:

1 Like

thanks, everyone. I’ll keep all of this in mind.